About Us

In 1948, 18 quality-minded professionals came together to form the Minnesota Section of ASQ.  Today MNASQ has grown to be the largest section within the ASQ community.  With more than 2000 members, serving a geographic region that encompasses Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota, Wisconsin and Iowa, we provide a wide variety of products and services to employers and individuals seeking to connect with like-minded professionals and increase their ability to make our world work better.


To be the community of choice providing professional development focused on total customer experience.


Foster personal and professional relationships, connections and sense of belonging.

Equip our community with the skills, competencies and knowledge that impact the total customer experience.

MNASQ sponsors professional development activities like program meetings, certification prep courses, workshops and seminars as well as face-to-face and online networking opportunities.

Minnesota ASQ History

1948 – Founded as the 33rd Section with 18 members.

1949 – Recognized as the only Section to ever have 100% member renewal.

1952 – Started the first full day Quality Conference in the nation.

1954 – Offered the first educational course.

1956 – Hosted the Midwest Quality Conference for the first time.

1970 – Helped start the Manitoba Section in Winnipeg.

1974 – The first female chair of an ASQ Section, Corrine Columbo was elected to office.

1986 – Held the is first Biomedical Focus Conference.

1987 – Hosting ASQC’s 41st Annual Quality Conference.

1988 – Placed first in the new Section Management Program, winning the top Saddoris Award.

1993 – Assisted with founding the Joseph M. Juran Institute at the University of Minnesota’s Carlson School of Management

2003 – Hosted the 50th Annual Quality Conference.

2003 – Formed the Biomedical Consortium Task Group.

2008 – Celebrated 60 years as a Section.